Homeschooling Multiple Ages or: How to Herd a Passel of Kittens and Not Lose your Mind


It seems everywhere I turn lately, mothers are asking this question:

How do I homeschool multiple ages and grades?

It’s a tough one. And I myself don’t have a whole lot of great advice. My three are so close in age that they function, mostly, like one age. But fortunately for you, lots of other people do.

And so today, I’d like to give you a PILE of links that hopefully will give you some encouragement, support, and solutions that will help keep your kittens purring and doing their times table worksheets. 


I try to do as much together as possible to save time and make teaching easier…. It’s easier to teach one lesson with everyone obviously, and for the most part this works for more elective type subjects.- Erica

I have always said that there is nothing better for a prickly teen than a sweet baby or toddler in the house.  Learning together fosters a stronger sense of family and has been the source of many happy family memories.- Marianne

  • A panel of moms at The Homeschool Mom discusses the benefits and difficulties of multi-level homeschooling on this post. While not diving into a lot of detail, they do give encouragement… I like this:

You have to figure out what works for you. Some large families probably do really strict homeschooling; we don’t. It’s taken me this long to stop feeling guilty about what I’m not doing and to feel good about what I am doing. – Meghan

  • This video by youtube channel Schmovies features a man named Tim interviewing his parents, who homeschooled him and his siblings through the years.

“Homeschooling is a marathon, not a sprint… You have to settle in to a pace you can keep.”- Tim’s Dad. 😉

A traditional school year is 36 weeks, 180 days. This can be done on the same schedule as your local school or customized to suit your family’s needs. You do not have to do every subject every day of your school year. –

  • Kendra at Catholic All Year answers a reader’s question in some detail here.. While she is specific about her curriculum, she does give some great advice about her methods, which are used on six children baby age through middle school, especially her magical “System.” (BTW: I’m bookmarking this to try in my house!)

The System has made my older kids more efficient and more accountable. In a big family with lots of different grades, it’s easy for kids to purposefully or inadvertently skip assignments.- Kendra

After 14 years of homeschooling and homesteading, I still don’t have it all balanced out the way I’d like it. But, oh well. Remember to focus on the basics.- Sally

When a child wants to speak to me while I am teaching another student, they must gently place their hand on me and wait for me to acknowledge them . This works wonders. I can actually finish explaining a math problem or a new language rule without losing my train of thought!- Heather

But there will definitely be times when you find yourself wondering, ‘Why am I doing this?’ You probably have ‘heart reasons’ for deciding to homeschool your children. Examine them well, and be ready to reaffirm them to yourself when those hard times come. Knowing that those times will come is probably the best information you can have, along with knowing that other people experience it, too!- Jill

Seriously, READ IT!


No, but really seriously, I hope that you are encouraged in your homeschooling by any of these resources.

If you are, please pin, tweet, or facebook share this link! It would make my day. Thanks!

#homeschooling multiple ages

May God bless you and your home (and your kittens) today!

Love,

Brianna

Leave a Reply

